Exquisite Corpse: 2012 Re-Animated

 Exquisite Corpse, Re-Animated!, SEAT  Comments Off on Exquisite Corpse: 2012 Re-Animated
Mar 112012

The Seattle Experimental Animation Team hosted an amazing screening on March 1st at Zeitgeist Coffee to premier this group film. Originally created for the event as part of the March 2012 Seattle Art Walk, this film was animated by Otto Bulut, Tess Martin, Eric Ostrowski, Stefan Gruber, Salise Hughes, Clyde Petersen and Webster Crowell. Each animator selected a slip of a paper from a hat, designating the start and end images of their segment of the piece. From there, they had one month to animate a short film. They were then compiled and projected at Art Walk. Music has been added to this online version, though the original version is silent. Music is “The School for Scandal” by Samuel Barber. Performed by the Garfield High School Orchestra in 1997.

Announcing Re-Animated: An Exquisite Corpse Animated Event

 Exquisite Corpse, Installations/Screenings, Re-Animated!, SEAT, Upcoming  Comments Off on Announcing Re-Animated: An Exquisite Corpse Animated Event
Jan 292012

Exquisite poster design by Stefan Gruber!


The Seattle Experimental Animation Team presents ‘Re-Animated: An Exquisite Corpse Animated Event’, part of the March Pioneer Square Art Walk. Starting from 8PM, the Zeitgeist Coffee space will be sparkling with multiple projections on windows, screens and the exclusive Flying Cinema kites, displaying clips from recent animated shorts as well as a specially created collective film: seven clips forming a continuous Exquisite Corpse loop. This event is free and open to the public.

Thursday, March 1, 2012 8:00PM – FREE
Zeitgeist Coffee
171 S. Jackson, Seattle WA 98101


Two years ago the Seattle Experimental Animation Team held a mobbed event at Zeitgeist Coffee with four projection screens featuring twelve local artists. Re-Animated ups the ante by featuring the world premiere of an endless animated loop, specifically drawn, sculpted, pixalated or otherwise animated for the night’s events by seven Seattle animators, forming an exquisite corpse film.

Seven animators (Salise Hughes, Tess Martin, Webster Crowell, Stefan Gruber, Otto Bulut, Eric Ostrowski and Clyde Petersen), pulled slips of paper out of a hat – these contained two images (‘Girl on a bike’ or ‘dog barking’, for example) that were to be the beginning and ending images of their short. The prompts had been predetermined by filmmaker Salise Hughes so that, once edited together, the seven clips would form a continuous loop.

The animators are still unaware of one anothers’ prompts, ensuring that Re-Animated will be an exciting evening for all involved. The informal setting will also host recent work by other local animators projected onto screens, windows and flying cinema kites suspended from the ceiling.

This event hopes to expand the public’s awareness of animation as a medium of personal expression by bringing it to the Pioneer Square Art Walk, an evening traditionally centered around painting and sculpture. At the same time it encourages animation lovers, who have normally only experienced the medium at sit-down screenings, to enjoy animation in a gallery-reception environment, giving them an opportunity to interact with the artists. On a simpler note it is a party atmosphere for animation lovers to meet art patrons over a beer or coffee at the close of Art walk.


Seattle Experimental Animation Team (SEAT) is a collective of animator/filmmakers who use a wide range of techniques to make films frame by frame. SEAT uses nearly every technique from classical hand-drawn to computer animation. SEAT’s members make films independently, but group endeavors involve bringing animation to non-film locations, and these have been some of our most exciting activities. Outside our globally touring animation program (Inter-Action), we’ve created animation installations at Susan Robb’s Long Walk (2011), Arabica Coffee (2011), Zeitgeist (2009) and we’re embarked on a commission in Cal Anderson park to animate a wall mural for Sound Transit over the course of four years. Our growing collective of award-winning animators includes Webster Crowell, Stefan Gruber, Britta Johnson, Drew Christie, Clyde Petersen and Tess Martin.

The SEAT website is www.experimentalanimation.org, and the Facebook page is http://www.facebook.com/experimentalanimation.